Fitness

Morning Motivation &Tabata Style Cardio

Let’s face it. A lot of what we do (or don’t do) stems from a mental push. Tquotehere are so many options and suggestions on how to motivate yourself. The trick is finding what works for you and I do believe that this starts with your mind. If you tell yourself, “I’m going to be sore tomorrow so I’ll take a day off” guess how you’re going to feel? Yep, sore (and lazy). If you tell yourself instead, “I can’t wait to try this new workout tomorrow, it’s going to make me feel great” you’re pretty much setting yourself up for success. It’s all about pushing yourself and no matter what motivational trends or messages you find most helpful, I believe that  mentally training and preparing yourself is the start.

I’ve started to take my own advice and push myself a little harder. I’ve previously been slacking because I’ve been telling myself that I can slack off because I worked hard the day before. This was wrong. It’s all the more reason to work even harder because of how good it makes me feel.

This being said, I’m sure I can’t be the only one who has trouble rolling out of bed when you’re alarm goes off at 6:30 in the morning…c’mon, who’s with me? I’ve found much research and read many posts on how to motivate yourself in the morning and I believe they would all work very well, again, as long as you truly tell yourself they will.

If I’m going for a run, I lay out everything the night before giving me no excuse to not get up and go. If I’m doing an ab routine or a Tabata Cardio routine it’s a bit easier. I set my alarm a little earlier and let it snooze once. I’m pretty sure this makes my body think it got that little bit more sleep it “wanted” and then I’m up and telling myself: it’s only 15 minutes (an intense 15 minutes)! Tabata Cardio routines in the morning are my favorite.

I came across these workouts a while back on a blog that I cannot seem to find the info for so credit goes to (insert blogs name here). These workouts are all over the internet and Pinterest so they are easy to find and an excellent addition to your daily routine. I’m sure many of you have heard of HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training). This cardiovascular exercise alternates between periods of brief, intense anaerobic exercise with shorter, less-intense recovery. From my research I’ve come to find this is the ultimate method of fat burning and conditioning. Check out this link from Shape on the benefits of HIIT.

Below is a favorite of mine that really gets me up and moving in the morning. The recovery period here features an active recovery to keep you moving yet still giving you the rest you’ll need in between. There’s more where that came from and I’m sure some of you have some favorites of your own…feel free to share!

1 Min Interval Cardio Workout

1 min High Knees, 30 seconds plié
1 min Plank Jacks, 30 seconds plié
1 min Frog Hops, 30 seconds plié
1 min Single Leg Hop (right leg), 30 seconds plié
1 min Single Leg Hop (left leg), 30 seconds plié
1 min Jumping Jacks, 30 seconds plié
1 min Turkish Get-Ups, 30 seconds plié (I started with a more “beginner” friendly ab move and worked my way up)
1 min Speed Skaters, 30 second plié
1 min Jump Rope (or jump in place), 30 second plié
1 min Barrier Jumps, 30 second plié
Finish with a 1 minute plank to really make yourself feel accomplished!

Push yourself more and more each time. Mix up a green, protein packed smoothie afterwards to feel your best. Remember, it’s all mental!

One thought on “Morning Motivation &Tabata Style Cardio

  1. Pingback: Strength Training: The Underestimated Fat Burner | Food, Fitness & Folly

Leave a Reply

