Food / Fun

And so it begins….The Semi-Veg Journey

Having worked at The Food Evolution for almost 3 months now, I’ve been exposed to so many new foods and recipes. I’ve also been exposed to the intrigue of a vegetarian diet.

I will first disclose that I do not mean to insult any full-fledge vegetarians or vegans in what may seem a half-hearted attempt at a vegetarian diet. I am someone who puts their all into something that they want to accomplish or get done, however I have some limitations (like when your Italian boyfriend’s mother makes wonderful meatballs). It does irk me that I cannot completely make the change, because truth be told I’d love to and absolutely would be able to especially now knowing what I know from my exposure to new foods at The Food Evolution. However, I promised my boyfriend I’d save some chicken dinners for him (cooking, and eating, is something we enjoy doing together).

This being said, my own personal time is dedicated to a vegetarian diet. Again, I hope not to offend and do not mean to seem a fraud! Vegetarian diets are simply more health supportive, nourishing and can be delicious! If you’re anything like the me from 3 months ago and know a little about nutrition and cooking, but have no idea what Bok Choy is or how to make a successful and tasty bean burger, I highly suggest checking out Vegetarian Menu Plans Made Easy presented by The Food Evolution. It’s our new online subscription program with three tiers customized to fit any budget and lifestyle. I don’t mean to sound like a promotor, however having been party of the creation I can say it’s pretty impressive. I wouldn’t post it on my own personal blog if it wasn’t. I’ll leave it up to you to check it out if interested (worth a look)….

collard

So, back to my personal semi-vegetarian journey. In my research I came across Tempeh. I also read up and am aware of the soy controversy, but found that fermented soy isn’t facing as big of a opposition. My trip to the health food store today sent me home with this new find(along with $45 worth of other things I’m aching to test out…stay tuned). I prepared some Coconut Curry Tempeh for lunch and am pleased to say, I like it. No, not love, but I do like it. I think the texture is what threw me off, but I couldn’t eat it stand alone and I figured since I had, my favorite, collard greens, why not make a wrap? I added some sprouts that I also took home from my shopping spree today, homemade hummus (delish- I’ll share recipe below) and some sliced avocado. I was absolutely satisfied. It tasted great and knowing it was nutritious made it even better.  I plan to continue this personally gratifying new adventure, being the change-chaser that I am and of course support, tips and/or recipes are always welcome!

Fun, Food & Folly to come!

Homemade Hummus

1/2 Cup Chickpeas
1/2 Avocado
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
Splash of Water, to desired consistency
Juice of 1/2 a Lemon

Blend all ingredients together in food processor. I added the lemon at the end and mixed in, gives it a great citrus-ey sour flavor.

7 thoughts on “And so it begins….The Semi-Veg Journey

  1. I think you can be just as healthy being partially vegetarian. The idea is to get some great nutritional value from the natural foods. I love the hummus recipe.

  2. This is exactly how my family prefers to eat. I love your recipe for hummus, so many of them have sesame paste (tahini) in them, but I find it can be kind of bitter. Sometimes I like to add sea salt and garlic to it also. Nice blog!

  3. Awesome. Look forward to seeing some recipes!! I’ve only been eating chicken and sometimes turkey for the past few months [I mean I won’t lie when I’ve been offered a steak, I have taken it – duh.] but I’m also very intrigued by the vegetarian diet!!

    • Same here! That’s why I knew it would be easier to make the swap. I haven’t found myself craving meat either! I’m with you though, hard to turn down a tasty meal!

  4. This looks so wonderfully delicious. It is 220am and you have me feeling hungry 🙂 I will certainly give this recipe a try. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to learning from you in the future 🙂 I recently started a food blog too and hopefully will have it as informative as yours 🙂 Natasha

    • Thanks Natasha! I love fello foodie’s blogs – I’m definitely going to check it out. Your travels sound awesome as well, good for you- I’m very jealous!

Leave a Reply

