Food

Detox Diaries:Late Night Post to Cure the Detox Rumbles

So I am just ending Day 5 of the Spring Cleanse Detox. A little less than half way through and still feeling good. Unfortunately on my Saturday “off,” I took a little cat nap which has left me a little restless. Ut-oh, so is my stomach.

I must reiterate, I do not advocate fasting or supplement plans that involve no nourishment or food. This detox involves two, very satiating meals a day (packed with protein) as well as two “snacks” and the truth is I do feel satisfied. Of course, when I keep myself up too late after the last “snack” around between 6:30-8 I’m asking for it. So I guess posting about food I can’t necessarily have is the way to beat it!

In the spirit of the detox, wild caught fish is a food group included in both breakfast (if you so choose) and lunch I’d like to share a recipe I have re-created for another writing purpose. Although some of the ingredients fall a little outside of the detox boundaries (i.e. green tea and lime) it’s definitely worth sharing. I’m also looking forward to making it again post-detox and/or recreating it to fit the terms.

This is a great superfood recipe packed with nutrition and flavor. Pair it with a scoop of brown rice or atop a bed of fresh arugula to amp the nutritional value. FYI this is a great recipe for preventing and fighting diabetes!

 

photo (5)

My personal culinary-photog attempt

Green Tea Poached Salmon with Ginger-Lime Sauce
Recipe adapted from thefoodnetwork.com

Ingredients:
6 Cups Water
2 Limes, halved
6 Tablespoons Honey, divided
4-inch Piece of Fresh Ginger, peeled and chopped
2 teaspoons Sea Salt
2 teaspoons Whole Coriander
4-6 Tablespoons Loose Green Tea
4 6 ounce Boneless, Skinless Salmon Fillets (Wild Caught is best!)

Directions:
Pour 6 cups of water into a straight sided skillet or pot with lid. Add 3 lime halves, squeezing the juice into the water before adding, 5 tablespoons of honey, the chopped ginger, sea salt and coriander. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce to a simmer, cover and cook for 10 minutes to infuse flavors. Remove from heat and reserve 1/2 cup of the poaching liquid. While removed from heat, add the green tea to large pot and allow to steep for 3-5 minutes. Carefully slide the salmon into the water. Cover and poach until the fish is cooked through and firm, about 6-7 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a small pot over low heat, simmer the reserved 1/2 cup of liquid with the juice and zest of the remaining lime halves and 1 tablespoon of honey. Reduce the liquid by 2/3 until thickened, about 7-10 minutes. (Be careful! Of course I burned the sauce on my first go-around so be sure to keep an eye on it!) 

Remove the fish with a slotted spoon and arrange on serving plates. Drizzle a little bit of the sauce over each piece of salmon before serving.

 

Hope you enjoy! Feel free to share your ideas for “detox-friendly” foods full of greens, beans and herbs!

*Disclaimer: For this detox I have adapted a “pescatarian” diet (beans can get old day after day!). In reference to my previous semi-veg posts, I do plan on maintaining a mostly plant-based diet, however I will always have a love for seafood.

2 thoughts on “Detox Diaries:Late Night Post to Cure the Detox Rumbles

Leave a Reply

