Food

Gooseberry Currant Jam Tarts from Shady Acres Organic Farm

Only recently, since working at The Food Evolution, did I become much more aware of the concept of “staying local.” Not only is it true that farm fresh produce tastes about 100 x’s better, but it is also beneficial to your community, your health and the planet!

In the latest Goshen Quarterly, we did a feature on the local farms at the Goshen Farmer’s Market. I had an amazing time getting to speak with the local farmers and cannot wait to visit each one individually. I finally made my way out to one this past weekend, Shady Acres Organic Farm.

*Organic is another topic sweeping the health and wellness world by storm. Check out the “Dirty Dozen” for more information!*

Shady Acres is well-known for their delicious Jams as they sell to a sophisticated market outside of their local farm stands. Of course I couldn’t resist. I bought a jar of their newest flavor, Gooseberry Currant Jam and a bag-full of their fresh heirloom tomatoes as well which made a delicious summer tomato salad (see below!).

photo (5)         photo (3)

photo (6)

 

I barely even made it to the car before I was opening and tasting the jam. Just as I suspected…delicious! I brought it home and spread it on just about everything I could find in my parent’s pantry before I decided to hold onto it for a special recipe. Of course this gave way to a more complicated excursion involving making my own almond flour….

Shady Acres Organic Jam Tartlettes with Blanched Almond Flour Crust
Ingredients:
1 Jar of Shady Acres Organic Gooseberry Currant Jam (or flavor of choice) – you will use about 1/4 of the jar depending on your preference!
Blanched Almond Flour Tart Crust
1 1/2 Cup Blanched Almond Flour*
1/2 Cup Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
2 Tablespoons Coconut Oil
2 Tablespoons Honey or Maple Syrup
Pinch of Sea Salt

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Blanched Almond Flour: Add almonds to a pot of boiling water for 1 minute. Strain and rinse under cold water. Peel the skin of the almonds. In a food processor or coffee grinder, pulse the almonds into a fine powder – use quick pulses to avoid turning to a paste or butter.


photo (1)                  photo (2)

 

Mix the flour, coconut and salt in a bowl or food processor. Melt the coconut oil and honey/maple syrup together and add to bowl/ food processor. Mix until coarse. Mold into tart crusts (size to preference) and push a small hole in the center (to add jam when baked). Bake for 12-16 minutes until golden. I left mine in a minute or two too long so I would recommend sticking closer to 11-12 minutes if you like a lighter crust.  Allow to cool and add a scoop of the jam in the center. Enjoy!

photo

 

 

Thank you Shady Acres for a delicious weekend treat!

 

 

I’d love to hear some suggestions for perfecting the homemade almond flour and maybe how to make a gluten-free flaky tart crust!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

